Sweet & Spicy Burger Bowl

The simplicity of summer is firing up the grill and having delicious food with minimal clean up.

I have a well-established affinity for all things spicy and pork, and did a deconstruction of some of my favorite chorizo pineapple burgers from PaleOMG for a quick and easy burger bowl the other week.

Chorizo Burger

In spite of the multiple components listed below, this was the ultimate in keeping it simple. Here’s what I did: chorizo burgers with grilled onions & peppers, grilled pineapple, and oven roasted sweet potato medallions.

Chorizo Burgers

Mix chorizo and ground beef together. I did equal parts, which might be a bit aggressive. I think you could do 1 part chorizo to 2 parts beef (i.e. 1/3 # chorizo, 2/3# ground beef) and still get a lot of the benefits of the chorizo flavor.

Shape into patties and grill to desired taste.

Grilled Onions & Peppers

I sliced up some onions and jalapenos and put them in aluminum foil with a little bit of oil and salt. I put the packet on the grill as soon as I turned it on, and left them on until the burgers rested.

Grilled Pineapple

Peel, core, and slice up some fresh pineapple. Grill it about 1-2 minutes per side.

Oven Roasted Sweet Potatoes

My favorite way to cook sweet potatoes these days comes from Cook’s Illustrated via MJ. I never remember if it’s 400 or 425 degrees, but you basically slice sweet potatoes thick, toss with oil, salt, and pepper, and then cover the tray with aluminum foil and put it in a cold oven. Turn the oven to 425 (or 400) and cook for 20 minutes. Remove foil and cook 15-18 minutes more. Flip, then cook another 15 minutes.

What do you get? Caramelized, pillowy, sweet potato deliciousness. Boom.

Leave a comment