Jan 2016 WLC: Week 1

It’s the Whole Life Challenge again!

After a really good/easy Day 1, I already struggled on Day 2. It highlighted how there is often a disconnect between things I know I should do and how often I actually make time for them (and that maybe I hadn’t mentally committed yet).

So, here’s to being 100% committed! Even if that means going to the gym for a 1,000 meter row time trial followed by 100 burpees for time.

As part of my re-commitment to the WLC and myself, I’m going to try to do a weekly Solidarity Eats post with 4 things:

  1. An at-home workout
  2. An at-home stretching routine
  3. A recipe to try
  4. An article to read

At-Home Workout: Static holds

Sometimes, it’s nice to do an at-home butt-kicker that gets your heart rate up and makes you sweat. Other times, I find I’m tired, sore, and too cold to want to get out and go for a walk. Rather than make excuses, I find that doing slow, deliberate movements or static holds can help me get my workout in, while respecting the need for rest and recovery.

Here’s something to do on a lazy off-day:

Accumulate 2:00 holding each of the following:

  • Plank
  • Side plank (2:00 each side)
  • Wall sit
  • Handstand hold

Not in a position to do handstands? Do 2:30 of every other movement. You don’t have to do the 2:00 all at once, but you do have to accumulate a total of 2:00 in each position.

Stretching: Stretches for desk workers

Try out these stretches to counteract the negative impacts of sitting.

Recipe: Cassoulet with Lots of Vegetables

Cold weather calls for soups and stews. This hearty cassoulet from Mark Bittman is infinitely variable–modify meats and veggies to your liking. As an added benefit, it freezers very well. Make a big batch and then freeze multiple servings for later on in the challenge when you need a quick and easy meal.

Read: “To Be Happier, Start Thinking More About Your Death

It sounds morbid, but this article really resonated with me and hit on some of the elements that the WLC lifestyle practice is targeting.

Leave a Reply

