Easy Chicken Curry

Today’s recipe comes courtesy of WLC participant Cathryn. Enjoy!

Easy Chicken Curry 

Ingredients:
  • 2-4 TBS Curry paste of choice (I usually use panang curry because I like the heat, choose green curries for milder flavor)
  • 1 TBS coconut oil
  • 4 cups coconut milk (2 cans)
  • 1 lb chicken breast, diced
  • 2 TBS fish sauce (Red boat fish sauce is compliant!)
  • 6 kaffir lime leaves, torn (I buy ones sold in the jar, they look like bay leaves.  You can also use basil…or just leave this out all together.)
  • 1.5 cups diced bell pepper (I prefer red in curries)
  • 1 cup fresh bean sprouts
  • Brown rice or cauliflower “rice” (optional)
Instructions: 
Fry the curry paste in the oil over medium high heat until fragrant — if you don’t like things as spicy, I’d suggest using less curry paste (or go with green curry, which tends to be sweeter).  Stir the coconut milk in with the curry paste and bring to a boil.  Add chicken and cook 10 minutes (until almost cooked through). Add fish sauce, red pepper and bean sprouts and cook about 5-8 more minutes.  Add lime leaves (or basil) at end and serve by itself, or over brown rice or cauliflower “rice”.
*Note: you can add more veggies to this if you want.  I almost always have red pepper in my fridge, so that’s what I start with and usually will add other stuff if I have it on hand.
To make cauliflower rice:
Cut cauliflower down into florets and pulse in food processor until it looks like rice (be careful not to pulse too much or it’ll get mushy).  Heat a tablespoon of coconut oil in a pot and add cauliflower, saute until lightly brown.  I was skeptical of this at first, but it doesn’t taste that much different than rice!  I’ve made cauliflower fried rice before as well and my husband told me he wouldn’t have known the difference if I didn’t tell him it was cauliflower.
Leave a Reply

