Spicy Korean Pork Bowls

With my current “super-commuter” status, most of my previous blogging–and cooking–time is now spent in the car. So, instead of cooking and blogging, I’m driving, and listening to audiobooks. While this commute time does entail some mental menu mapping, the last few months have year has been a rinse/wash/repeat approach to cooking, with the focus on minimizing stress more than maximizing fancy-pants dining experience.

Sometimes, though, I get a inspired.

A few months ago, we were in Columbus, Ohio, and stopped by Bibibop (a new fast-casual Asian restaurant that we thought was by Chipotle; we were wrong, but it was still tasty). Around the same time, I finally tried one of the bibimbop bowls at Mixed, fast-casual Korean grill in Chapel Hill, NC. Both offer a base of either rice or lettuce, a variety of meat/tofu options, and plenty of veggies (Bibibop is more Americanized than Mixed, but both had tasty options). The basic premise is simple, and after realizing I could easily eat Mixed’s spicy pork with piles of sauteed veggies every day for a week without getting bored, I set out to re-create just that.

First, I sliced up some pork and got it marinating in this marinade. (I didn’t have gochujang, so I substituted some Ninja Squirrel sriracha sauce.)

I got a big pot of rice cooking while I chopped up a ton of veggies and sauteed them. I made:

  • Sliced zucchini with garlic
  • Julienned carrots with ginger
  • Sauteed mushrooms (a blend of shitake and button)
  • Caramelized onions

After the pork had marinated for about 3 hours, I cooked it, and set about assembling the bowls:

IMG_20140713_122054943The verdict? It’s a great way to use up odds and ends in the veggie drawer and it’s tasty (and it looks pretty, too) – a definite repeat!

 

Leave a Reply

