A few of my favorite things…

Lately, my focus has been on “food. bowls. refrigerator.” and the idea of photographing and then recalling recipes/process for the blog has been far from my mind. Moreover, the food we’ve been making has been fine – FINE, I tell you – but it’s been pretty basic: consistent variations on (rice & beans) or (sweet)potato + meat + greens. Some of the highlights from the past few weeks?

Elote (Mexican Grilled Corn)

Depending upon your feelings about mayonnaise, this recipe might make you wary. Don’t be. Instead, thank whoever decided to slather mayonnaise, cayenne, lime juice, and cheese on grilled corn. It’s pretty much the best thing ever, and you should try it at your next barbecue.

Homemade Taco Seasoning

Ground beef with taco seasoning is a perennial hit in our household, But, the store bought packets are often filled with some extra ingredients that I normally don’t care to put in my cooking. (Plus, I don’t always have them in the pantry!)

This recipe was very well-balanced. I quadrupled it to have taco seasoning on hand for the next few months. And, given our spicy ways, I added an extra pinch of cayenne; go easy on the crushed red pepper if you aren’t as into the picante as we are.

Ninja Squirrel Sriracha

I’m ambivalent about Huy Fong sriracha. I know this is akin to sacrilege in sriracha-obsessed circles, but it just doesn’t do it for me. I do love spicy and cute labels, though, so it was hard to resist the lure of Ninja Squirrel while in Whole Foods. THIS stuff is now my sriracha obsession. It’s hot, with a nice balance of sweet and sour, without being too sweet or too vinegary. (And it was the perfect ingredient my 4th of July riff on this spicy-sweet chicken grilling recipe.)

It’s $3.99/bottle (at least in VA) and available exclusively at Whole Foods.

Leave a Reply

