Tart & Tangy Slaw

After making a few amazing recipes from Molly Stevens’s All About Braising, I felt confident in my abilities to go out and whip up something phenomenal all on my own. So, when I saw stew meat on sale at Whole Foods, it was time to put my newfound braising skills to the test. Perusing some beef stew recipes for inspiration, I gave it a whirl. Unfortunately, I was a bit overconfident…

On the one hand, my chuck roast was cooked to perfection, a minor victory. The stew itself was okay, but it was missing something. And, for the life of me, I couldn’t figure out what it was. After adding salt, worcestershire sauce, and mustard to the pot, it’s something-ness was still lacking. What wasn’t lacking, however, was beef stew. I ate that stew for 6 straight days!

What, you might ask, does a semi-failed stew adventure have to do with this slaw recipe?

Well, after six days of eating monotony, I was ready for a change. (On Friday, the last day of stew, I was even fantasizing about dropping my bowl on the floor so I would have to go to Chipotle for lunch.) Eating this crunchy, tangy slaw zapped me right out of my food doldrums.

Red Cabbage Slaw

What to eat with it?

We went for sauteed onions and sausage

Brats and Onions

with roasted sweet potato wedges.

Roasted Sweet Potato Wedges

Tart & Tangy Slaw

  • 1/2 small red cabbage or 1/4 large red cabbage, thinly sliced
  • 1 small Granny Smith apple, sliced into matchsticks
  • 1/4-1/2 c. cilantro leaves, chopped
  • juice of ~2 limes
  • 1/2 t. kosher salt + more to taset
  • 1/8 – 1/4 t. cayenne pepper (or try fresh jalapeno)
  • 1-2 t. honey (optional)
  1. Mix all ingredients into a bowl. Taste and adjust salt, spice, lime juice (or apple cider vinegar), cilantro, and sweetness to taste.
  2. Let sit for 1-2 hours before serving. That’s it!

Red Cabbage Slaw 2

Leave a Reply

