WLC Meal: Skirt Steak with Guacamole, Roasted Root Vegetables, and Sauteed Summer Squash

Boo hoo. After a few months of playing around with a fancy camera when I took food photos, I am back to using my cell phone. In the intervening months, my cell phone’s camera quality suffered a noticeable decline. Nearing two years of age, my phone is practically geriatric in the technology realm, but I’m surprised at how blurry and washed out the photos are. Thankfully, that washed out look is hip these days.

Anyway, here’s another easy to toss together meal that mainly requires a knife and a few minutes of active prep time.

Roasted Root Vegetables

  • 2 large carrots, peeled and cut into small pieces
  • 1 large sweet potato, peeled and cut into small pieces
  • 1 large onion, sliced thinly
  • olive oil
  • salt & pepper
  • 1/2 t. cumin*
  • 1/2 t. smoked paprika*
  • Pinch of red pepper flakes (optional)

*If you want a spicier medley, feel free to up these. I think you could easily do 1 t. of each without overwhelming the dish, but 1/2 t. gave it a subtle flavor.

Preheat your oven to 400. Toss carrots, sweet potato, and onion with a generous glug of olive oil (2-3 T.), spices, and salt and pepper to taste. Roast, stirring once or twice, for 45-55 minutes or until vegetables are soft.

Roasted Sweet Potatoes, Carrots, and OnionsWhile the vegetables were roasting, I sliced up a zucchini, a yellow squash, a few cloves of garlic, and a cayenne pepper. (If you, like me, have limited experience with fresh cayenne peppers, be forewarned: these suckers are pretty spicy!). I heated a little bit of ghee in a pan and sauteed the squash until it was just starting to get tender, then I threw in the garlic, pepper, and seasoned the mixture with salt.

Once these were done, I cleared them out of the pan, set the heat to medium-high, sprinkled a skirt steak with some seasonings, and seared each side.

When my steak was done, I piled my plate high with my squash mixture, sweet potatoes and carrots, and a nice dollop of Whole Foods guacamole.

Noms, indeed.

Skirt Steak with Guacamole, Roasted Root Vegetables, and Sauteed Squash

Leave a Reply

