What to do with…romesco.

So, you diligently follow my blog and made a big batch of romesco sauce following my recent post, right?

Now, what do you do with it?

You put that s*** on everything.

I won’t lie: I ate a spoonful (or two) straight up. It’s like a savory-spicy nut butter.

Romesco is traditionally served with seafood, but I also saw a recipe for romesco potatoes in Sunday Suppers at Lucques. Pan-seared fish with romesco sauce and romesco potatoes? Done and done.

First, I zested some lemons and chopped some parsley.

Lemon ZestingI seasoned some turbot fillets with the lemon zest and parsley, and set them in the refrigerator for an hour or two to let the flavors gently infuse. (Season with salt and pepper just before cooking them).

Seasoned TurbotMeanwhile, I tossed some fingerling potatoes with olive oil, salt, pepper, and some aromatics (I used some unpeeled garlic cloves, thyme sprigs, a bay leaf or two, and a few chile de arbol). I covered the pan with foil and let them roast until they were tender.

Fingerling Potatoes with AromaticsOnce the potatoes were cool, I smashed them a little (using my hands).

Smashed Potatoes 2

I heated a cast iron skillet over medium-high heat and added some bacon fat to it. I cooked my potatoes for 7-8 minutes per side to get them nice and crisp. (You need a lot of oil to really brown and crisp them, but they are still delicious even if you skimp on the oil for a lighter dish). Once they are crisping and starting to brown, mix in a generous dollop or two of romesco sauce to coat the potatoes.

While the potatoes are cooking, you can sear your fish in another pan. When my fish was done, I plated it on top of a bed of arugula (a light olive oil and lemon dressing would be delicious if you wanted to make it fancier) and topped it with a dollop of romesco sauce.Seared Turbot on Arugula with Romesco and Romesco Potatoes 2

What to do if you’re trying to avoid potatoes? Roasted cauliflower tossed with romesco sauce would be delicious, too!

Leave a Reply

