Apple Streusel Muffins

The last time I made these apple streusel egg muffins from Balanced Bites, Michael’s response was “These are delicious! Please NEVER make them again.”

If they are so delicious, why the antipathy towards a recipe repeat?

Paleo Apple Streusel Muffins

Because cleaning the muffin pan was a pain-in-the-***.

My old muffin tin is pretty worthless: it doesn’t really have a non-stick coating and it rusts easily. Add to this combination an egg-based muffin with no muffin liners, and it’s a recipe for a 20 minute cleaning session that still yields an inadequately clean pan.

I’ve never been that successful cooking “paleo” muffins in paper liners (sticks to the muffin) and haven’t really felt inspired to shell out for parchment muffin liners. Suffice to say, I haven’t made many muffin type recipes, mainly because I’ve been poorly equipped to do so. Until now, that is!

Using some store credit at Bed, Bath, & Beyond, I bought one of their cheapest muffin pans and splurged on a set of Betty Crocker reusable silicone baking cups.

Muffin Liners

I was amazed when my muffins popped easily out of the liners at the end of baking. No residue or debris left behind. While I still had to clean each liner and the pan, there was no vigorous soak/scrubbing/rusting cycle. I am totally sold and very excited to try my hand at more egg-based muffin recipes.

Any recommendations?

Recipe note: Diane at Balanced Bites recommends a 40 minute bake time, but my muffins take more like 20-25 minutes. Just be careful and sneak a peek at them around minute 20 to make sure you don’t overdo it!

2 thoughts on “Apple Streusel Muffins

Leave a Reply

