Shredded Beet & Carrot Salad

Each week, I’ve been bringing home hefty piles of beets and carrots from my CSA pick up at Bellair Farm.

Beets & Carrots

While my go-to method for beets is roasting, the hot and humid weather had me craving something a little lighter. Using this recipe from Epicurious as a starting point, I took a pile of beets and a pile of carrots, peeled them, and put the shredding blade on my food processor to good use.

Shredded Beets & CarrotsThen, I quickly blended Tamari, rice wine vinegar, and a hefty dash of hot sauce together with some onion, ginger, and a garlic scape.

Sauce IngredientsI tasted the resulting mixture for balance (bear in mind that it mellows if you let it sit for a bit), and then tossed it with my shredded veggies (I don’t care that my beets will color the carrots purple. Keep them separate if this is something that would bother you.)

Tossed Beets & CarrotsDrizzle this with a little bit of olive oil until it is dressed to your liking.

While I am perfectly content munching on this slightly crunchy, tangy salad right out of the bowl–I’ll be honest, there is a lot of “tasting for balance” when I cook–I dressed it up a little more by serving it on a bed of torn romaine and drizzling with some Tessemae’s Soy Ginger dressing for an extra boost of flavor.

Shredded Carrot & Beet SaladAdded bonus: the beet and carrot mixture stores well in the refrigerator. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Shredded Beet & Carrot Salad

Leave a Reply

