Freezer Crock Pot Adventures: Moroccan Chicken

So, surgery happened, and I’ve learned: Percocet is fantastic, one-armed typing is the worst, and I AM SO HAPPY (<–all caps=happy, for reals) with my freezer stock. This happiness rose to elation when my first real test came out all bang up delicious.

Of course, now that I look at the recipe and my notes on what I did, I’m beginning to wonder whether I was on drugs when I wrote those notes. They say “1.5x.” Annnnd that’s it. However, I’m pretty sure it’s fairly fool proof, so I won’t lead you too astray with the following instructions.

Also, I have no pictures to be exciting. That is just too much for me to handle right now. I promise that it turns out really quite attractive and will look like some amalgamation of these pictures I found by googling “Moroccan Chicken Soup”:

Image

The following is a stew/soup from The Primal Blueprint Cookbook. Rather than cook and simmer and stir on the stovetop, I put the ingredients in a freezer bag a few weeks ago and threw the semi-defrosted contents of the bag into the crockpot yesterday. Six hours later, I had a beautiful, fragrant chicken soup. The flavors reminded me of one of my favorite restaurants in college (Aladdin’s), which always served food that was fresh, light, and filling. It brightened up nicely with a squeeze of lemon and some fresh butter on top, and is sure to warm and satisfy you on these chilly, drizzly days we’ve been having.

Moroccan Chicken Soup
Serves 2-3
Adapted from The Primal Blueprint Cookbook

  • 1 onion, diced
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 T. ginger, minced
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 1/2 t. turmeric
  • 1/2 t. cinnamon
  • 1/2 T. paprika
  • 1/2 t. coriander
  • 1/2 t. cumin
  • 1/4 t. cayenne (or more if you like it a little spicier!)
  • 4 boneless skinless chicken thighs
  • 14.5-oz can stewed tomatoes (retain juice)
  • 1 c. water
  • 2 c. frozen green beans (~2/3 of a 1# bag of frozen green beans)
  • 1 lemon, cut into wedges
  • butter (optional)
  1. Put all ingredients except for frozen green beans, lemon, and butter into Crock Pot. Cook on low for 5 and a half hours. Note: If you are freezing, put all ingredients except for water, green beans, lemon, and butter into a freezer bag. Close and freeze. When ready to use, defrost overnight (or add a little to the cooking time), and add 1.5 cups water to the semi-frozen mixture in the Crock Pot. (Write your day of use instructions on the bag with a Sharpie.)
  2. After 5.5 hours on low, stir in frozen green beans and cook for another 30 minutes on low.
  3. Taste and add additional salt, if desired. Serve with lemon wedges (or squeeze about 1/2-1 T. lemon juice into soup) and butter on top. Serve plain with a salad for a light meal, or fill it out with (cauliflower) rice on the side. Enjoy!
One thought on “Freezer Crock Pot Adventures: Moroccan Chicken

  1. Pingback: Pre-WLC Freezer Stocking « Solidarity Eats

Leave a Reply

