Desperation Dinner: Salmon & Kale Salad

Hungry and lazy, I grabbed a can of emergency protein that had been languishing in my pantry: wild salmon from Trader Joe’s. Unfortunately, it hasn’t been sitting around because of all the gourmet meals I’ve been making; rather, it’s pretty uninspiring stuff. It smells like my cat’s food (okay, that’s a low blow to the salmon, sorry salmon) yet has no real flavor (probably caused by the total absence of salt). So, while unoffensive, it’s not high on my list of “things to cook with.” But, it is a good source of protein, and I figured its boring blandness would make a great contrast against more pungent ingredients. (I know, I’ve really sold you on this dinner so far…)

Verdict? This was a fantastic way to eat the last of that TJ’s salmon. I initially only served myself half of this…and then ate it all (does that make it a pre-dinner snack or just first dinner?). I think it would be pretty delicious with chopped hardboiled eggs, either in addition to the salmon or as a replacement if you’re vegetarian. Enjoy!

Salmon & Kale Salad
Serves 1-2

  • 1 can salmon (6-oz.)
  • 2 scallions, sliced thinly (both white and green parts)
  • 3-4 leaves kale, de-stemmed and chopped into bite size pieces
  • handful of mushrooms, chopped
  • 12 kalamata olives, chopped
  • 1/2-1 T. dijon mustard
  • 1-2 T. olive oil
  • red pepper flakes (optional)
  • salt
  1. Mix all ingredients in a bowl. Done!
Leave a Reply

