Cauliflower Pizza

I love cauliflower. Michael loves pizza. He has been moaning and groaning since we started the Whole 30 about the lack of pizza in his life, so, when our produce supplier published a grain-free cauliflower pizza recipe, it was time to experiment.

Unfortunately, a quick google search for “paleo cauliflower pizza” yielded variations on a recipe that has been floating around the low-carb/grain-free community for awhile: cauliflower crust held together with 1 cup of cheese. The pictures look fabulous–the cheese creates a bubbly, browned crust that appears to hold together well with a nice crunch–but dairy is a no-go for me in general and definitely off limits while we Whole 30. Of the few non-dairy versions found, most called for 3/4 c. of almond flour; almonds are great, but I wanted to see if we could lighten it up a little bit by trying to use coconut flour, which works well as a binder.  And so, my first true baking experiment began.

Paleo Cauliflower Pizza Crust

  • 2 cups riced cauliflower florets
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 T. coconut flour
  • 2 T. almond flour (just pulse almonds in the food processor until they form a meal/flour)
  • 1/2 t. garlic powder
  • 2 pinches oregano
  • 2 hefty pinches salt
  • a few grinds of black pepper
Toppings
Use whatever you want.  I used some basil-walnut pesto that had been languishing in the freezer plus some meatballs, red onion, some tomato (pitiful after I tried to “roast” thin slices), mushrooms, and eggs.
  1. Preheat oven to 450.
  2. Pulse cauliflower florets in food processor until fluffy and rice-like.  Don’t let them stick together.

  3. Put in glass bowl (see above) and microwave for 8 minutes (don’t add water!).  This was very uninspiring when I took them out and was my first moment of panic.
  4. Mix cauliflower with eggs, coconut flour, almond flour, and seasonings. Add a little more coconut flour if necessary to form a nice ball that is slightly wet.  Spread this on a tray covered with parchment paper and bake by itself for about 10-12 minutes or until starting to brown.(Yes, I did use aluminum foil.  Unsprayed.  This was a MISTAKE.  For the second time in the past month I spent a good 5-10 minutes gingerly peeling aluminum foil from my product while trying not to rip things in half.  Perhaps it is time for me to invest in some parchment paper.  Or some cooking spray.  Or both.)
  5. While crust is baking, get your toppings ready to go.I sliced up some veggies……and mixed up some meatballs (ground beef + seasonings = delish!) that I also tossed in the oven to cook while the crust baked.
  6. Top your pizza! I spread some pesto on the crust, cut my meatballs in half, and arranged my toppings. Bake for about 5-10 min more.
  7. Last, but certainly not least, I pulled the pizza out, turned the oven up to a broil, and cracked 2 eggs on top of the pizza. I broiled on high for a few minutes. Second moment of panic: burning crust! It looked a lot worse than it tasted, but my crust was a touch overdone while the eggs were still clear in parts of the whites.
Michael walked into the kitchen and said, “It smells like pizza!” It also far surpassed my expectations in terms of taste and texture. Definitely not a flour crust, but more bread-like than anticipated. And I even kind of loved my ooey gooey runny eggs. Experiment success!
Leave a Reply

